Due to redistricting, Senate districts have a unique issue that Assembly and Congressional districts do not have. Of the Senate districts established by the Citizens Redistricting Commission in 2011, only the odd-numbered districts went into effect  after the November 2012 election. The new even-numbered districts will go into effect  after the November 2014 election, and the even-numbered districts previously established by the 2001 redistricting will continue to exist until December 2014. These unique circumstances create some areas of overlap between the old and new districts (“accelerated areas”) and some areas without coverage (“deferred areas”).

For the 2013-14 Regular Session of the Legislature, each accelerated area essentially has two Senators representing the area and each deferred area has none.  The Senate Committee on Rules assigned a Senator to provide constituent services to deferred areas.    Accelerated areas are represented by both  Senators of the overlapping districts until December 2014. This is a normal consequence of the redistricting process.

SD8 is considered an accelerated area currently represented by Senator Mark Leno and Senator Jerry Hill.  To confirm your Senate representative and determine what office should assist you, please Click Here and follow the prompts.